Chunks of Brain

Friday, 4pm.

I am lonely at my job. That is not my job’s fault. I want more out of life, that is the problem. What I want out of life is not the big, life-dream, I-was-made-for-this-moment event. I want connection. And reality. Something meaningful to someone else, or several someone elses. This week I thought I would probably feel pretty fulfilled as a stay at home dad. Not because I got to stay at home but because I would be investing my days in something that really matters to me.

Alas, that’s not an option. But a nice thought.

Conversation is key to my spiritual experience. Like the life dream, connecting with God is not the big calling, leave thy home and go forth to a land I will show you connecting. It is every day. Like a friend of mine put it this morning, it is another relationship I make time for and maintain. It is the accumulaion of a lot of little things over time, not a big one-off Word From God that changes the world. He never does that, I think, Jesus included. He wants relationship before obedience. Am I writing theology here? I better move on.

Life is crazy when no one is home in time to make dinner. Not that dinner is the point, but it is the last stop on the road of mantaining the house during the day. And lately we have had popcorn and corn chips for dinner about once a week. Which actually has been strangely freeing. Family movie nights are becoming a regular event, mostly because there are precious few other family events in our week. So tonight we are eating Dominos in the living room and watching Snow White. And maybe Toy Story 3 after that.

Happy weekend.

  1. Jane
    October 31, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Connections are so important aren’t they? I can see you looking back on these years of “solitude’ at your current job, for you will be in another position with meaning and lots of connection. Everyone needs to go through the valleys so they REALLY appreciate the mountain tops of relationships. Having just gone through 2 years of very little relationship, I am humbly grateful for the multiple connections we are now having at church. I took it for granted after awhile at Bethany because it was always there and always in my work. Life had to remind me what it’s like for most people, because connection is rare and is a gift.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

