Home > Church, Faith > Tea Party Jesus

Tea Party Jesus

Here’s a great site putting the words of mainstream Christian figures into the mouth of Jesus. Pretty funny at first and then oh so very wrong pretty quickly after that. Politicians, pundits, pastors and more, each photo links to the article quoting the original speaker. Gives a bit of perspective to the things people say who claim to be speaking in his name.

Categories: Church, Faith Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. mike00000000001
    July 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    I think some tea partiers may actually be deists, some atheists, some Christians, and some none of the above. The crowd has some diversity. As such, I do not know why they are all put in a narrow stereotype other than uniformed opinions concerning them. I think the left just needs someone to hate.

  2. mike00000000001
    July 2, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    As a tea partier, I want government to stop controlling speach, the press, businesses, health care, and what kind of light bulb I must use. But I don’t just want this for myself. I want it for everyone. I want everyone to be free . . within reasonable bounderies. The reasonable boundery is common law . .. don’t steel, don’t murder, don’t vandalize, don’t infringe on basic human liberties, don’t rape, don’t control something that does not really threaten human liberty like what genes I may have or what light bulb I use. I don’t care what race or ethnicity the president is. Just please make the government stop controlling my life and everyone elses to the extreme. We need a president, not a king.

  3. July 2, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Thanks for your comments, Mike. I’m with you on the diversity of tea partiers, and I don’t intend this post to be any political comment at all, so much as a comment on Christians in the public eye. I’m sure the author of the blog could do the same with outspoken Christians of any other political affiliation. What I find somewhat amusing and mostly disturbing is the connection between these more radical statements that people identifying themselves as Christians in the public sphere are making, and the person of Jesus himself (Americanized and Sunday-schoolish as the images are). For my part, perhaps like the author of the blog, I’d rather the Christians quoted there – regardless of their political affiliation or agendas – would give more thought to who Jesus is and how they are portraying him to the public.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

