Home > Creativity and the Arts, Faith, The Song That's Stuck in My Head > The Song That’s Stuck in My Head #1

The Song That’s Stuck in My Head #1

So this used to be a separate page here on the site but I’ve migrated it into the regular blog posts. Perhaps that will make it a bit more regular then….

lgdcilluminate

“Deliver Me”
David Crowder Band

One of the several creative or counterintuitive tracks DCB has adapted or adopted, from well-known traditional hyms to a Sufjan Stevens cover. This one, written by a band you’ve never heard of, was popularized by Sarah Brightman, Andrew Lloyd Weber’s ex-wife and his inspiration for the character of Christine Daaé in The Phantom of the Opera. It’s a plodding minor-key dirge that feels like walking through knee-deep mud to get to someone on the other side:

All of my life I’ve been in hiding
Wishing there was someone just like you
Now that you’re here, now that I’ve found you
I know that you’re the one to pull me through

Musically the song never actually gets to the other side, so to speak, and instead ends with an instrumental jam that is even more desperate and furious than the song itself. There’s a break in the middle, though, a stop-and-breathe moment which is the part that gets stuck in my head, quoting lyrics from another hymn I also happen to enjoy:

Jesus, Jesus how I trust you
How I’ve proved you o’er and o’er
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus:
Deliver me.

Many songs get stuck in my head because I happen to have recently heard them somewhere or have been thinking of them. This is one of the few that often enters unbidden in the middle of whatever I am doing and subtly and briefly takes me somewhere else.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

