Home > Creativity and the Arts, Film > The Alphabet Meme

The Alphabet Meme

Fletch at Blog Cabins kicked off a list of best films by letter, and though I haven’t been tagged I thought hey, why not join the fun. Here are the stated rules:

1. Pick one film to represent each letter of the alphabet.

2. The letter “A” and the word “The” do not count as the beginning of a film’s title, unless the film is simply titled A or The, and I don’t know of any films with those titles.

3. Movies are stuck with the titles their owners gave them at the time of their theatrical release.

4. Films that start with a number are filed under the first letter of their number’s word. 12 Monkeys would be filed under “T.”

5. Link back to Blog Cabins in your post so that I can eventually type “alphabet meme” into Google and come up #1, then make a post where I declare that I am the King of Google.

Seems like a good time. Here’s a shot.

Apocalypse Now – more for it’s impact on culture and filmmaking than the fact that I enjoy watching it
Babettes gaestebud – I love films about love
Chinatown – The best film ever written
Dark Knight, The – Seemed easy to fill in here. Someone get me a Joker t-shirt.
Empire Strikes Back, The – a Star Wars film had to make the list
Fight Club – Narrowly beating out (ha) the Fisher King.
Godfather, The – Empire got it right. The best one there is.
Hana-bi – Another movie about love. Sort of.
Incredibles, The – Pixar’s reigning king
Juno – Watch it for the soundtrack, let alone the film
K-PAX (Aaa! Just kidding! – actually I can’t think of one. I’ll have to go with King Kong (1933))
Lord of the Rings: Return of the King – Can I just include all three here?
Matrix, The – One of the few movies that changed how I look at the world
Napoleon Dynamite – Utterly quotable, but only if you do it right. Otherwise you just sound dumb.
Ordet – Heard of it? The power of hope, captured on celluloid.
Pather Panchali – Another film school film, one I get lost in.
Quiet Man, The – Not many Q offerings, but this one is a gem.
Rope – My favorite of Hitchcock’s (really – North by Northwest didn’t even make the list)
Shichinin no Samurai – If the Godfather is the best there is, this one is the granddady of them all
Trois Couleurs: Rouge – Another movie that changed how I look at the world. And it’s about love.
Usual Suspects, The – Saw it four times in a row in the theaters.
Vertigo – Vertigo? V for Vendetta? I’ll go with Hitch again.
Wit – a tale of an adamantium will crushed to the point of being able to be loved.
X-Men – because there just aren’t that many X films.
You’ve Got Mail – “I was eloquent! Shit!”
Zapruder film of the Kennedy assassination (it’s the only Z movie I can remember ever seeing)

Think you can do it too?

  1. Anonymous
    November 24, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    For your edification, entertainment, education, enjoyment or something else–http://www.mysubtitles.com/index.php?list=X. Substitute ‘k’ for ‘x’ in URL to see more than 13,000 film titles that start with K. I posted my list. It left me greatly conflicted. Upon reflection and doing some quick math I have seen somewhere around 15,000 films and am familiar with another 15k or so I haven’t seen but want to. Picking out 26 was painful 🙂

    Rob

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

