Home > Church, Life the Universe and a Good Cup of Coffee > The Inexplicable Profundity of Church Lawn Signs

The Inexplicable Profundity of Church Lawn Signs

On my commute I drive by a lawn sign in front of a little white Baptist church on a hill that was once changed frequently but lately has been stuck on one persistent aphorism for perhaps more than a year now:

DOWNLOAD YOUR WORRIES
GET ONLINE WITH GOD

Now I see the intent here, but stop me if I’m wrong – wouldn’t getting “online” with God to “download your worries” result in having more worries than you started with? God, the eternal server for all the worries you care to install on your mainframe. They must mean upload. Even so, wouldn’t that still leave you with all the worries you originally had, now only duplicated somewhere else? Perhaps an antivirus or drive formatting metaphor would have been more astute.

There has been more than enough said about church signs in general, but I’ll point you here to read what I think could be the most effective use of a church sign (for its intended purpose), if however no church I’ve ever heard of would consider it.

  1. virtualnexus
    October 27, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Had to smile; good posts and interesting links. Brit trying to get a feel what’s happening your side of the pond and rolling over here….wordcathedral.wordpress is my new church blog.

  2. July 21, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Yeesh, I know. What they often become is sort of an “inside”-joke that most people on the outside don’t receive all that well. I guess it’s just one of those holdovers from a generation ago.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

