John the Prophet

Mayer, that is. And prophetic in that many things on his last album just seem, well, true. Or at least true for me. I posted here already about one of the songs. I could just as truly have written some of the lyrics. And by written I mean they would have been just as honest though perhaps not as eloquent. A smattering:

On religion, in reference to my previous post:

belief is a beautiful armor
and makes for the heaviest sword
like punching underwater
you never can hit who you’re trying for

we’re never gonna win the world
we’re never gonna stop the war
we’re never gonna beat this
if belief is what we’re fighting for

On integrity:

Gravity
Wants to bring me down
I’ve never known what makes this man
With all the love that this heart can stand
Dream of ways to throw it all away

Oh gravity, stay the hell away from me
And gravity has taken better men than me
How can that be?

Just keep me where the light is

On loss:

When you’re dreaming with a broken heart
the giving up is the hardest part

On persistence and the journey:

How did they find me here?
What do they want from me?
All of this vultures hiding right outside my door
I hear them whispering
They’re trying to ride it out
Cause they’ve never gone this long without a kill before

Down to the wire
I wanted water but I walk through the fire
If this is what it takes to take me even higher
And I’ll come through like I do
When the world keeps testing me, testing me, testing me

And then the one I’m feeling today:

You know, it’s nothing new
Bad news never had good timing
But, then your circle of friends
Will defend the silver lining

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
No, it won’t all go the way it should
But I know the heart of life is good

I know it’s good

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

