Home > Life the Universe and a Good Cup of Coffee, Relationships > Like Farmer Gray’s Birthday Party

Like Farmer Gray’s Birthday Party

I was up until 1am last night with good friends and movies (what am I, 24?). And then up again at 6:30 with the cute but firm reminder of the difference seven more years has made. It was all I could do this morning to keep upright on the couch downstairs and keep my eyes open and somehow attentive to Gianna as she motored around the basement killing time until she would yank on my leg and sign to me that she was hungry. It was worth it though, Chinese food and a fire and a movie and pillows and blankets and good friends for an evening that no one would have minded had it stretched to sunup.

Yesterday I did something I’ve never done before – I took off work to spend the day loving on Amber and giving her a day off from her job. It was strangely difficult to decide to do, but once decided it was the best thing I’ve done in a long time. The kids and I made pancakes for her, then I bundled them up and dropped them off at our wonderful excellent generous amazing (I haven’t used enough adjectives here but I should stop) good friends’ house for the day and returned home. We picked through paint swatches, we ate a leisurely lunch and took a nap, we hurried off to the theater and saw a film with love, a cute couple, a European landscape and Patrick Dempsey’s dimples (all of which are point-scorers in Amber’s book), and ended the day with Italian food. The evening commenced with the above stated elements, and was a perfect ending for a perfect day, to quote Parish and Anderson.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

