Home > Life the Universe and a Good Cup of Coffee > A Month’s Assortment of Topics

A Month’s Assortment of Topics

1. Facebook. When I first got on Facebook in August it was the coolest thing to happen to the internet since AOL. And I’m talking 1994 not 1998 AOL. I was adding apps, finding friends, updating my status and my personal info, and loving it. At some point however, I found pretty much all my friends on Facebook, wrote all I wanted about myself and my hobbies, and realized all but three or four of the Facebook apps out there are crap. (I still get unsolicited ducks thrown at me for example). Now my facebook use is pretty much restricted to updating my status from time to time, and playing Scrabble and Boggle here and there.

2. Prolific. The Facebook app name for the aforementioned Boggle habit. Play others online, raise your rating and make no friends or useful progress in life whatsoever. Pretty darn fun. There’s an annoying cut-off, however, once your rating tops 1300 and you’re no longer allowed to play the farm league games. My rating has been floating right around 1320 or so, which means everyone I play with now is better than me. Which makes me feel dumb. But I still play it.

3. Realtors. Do they teach you guilt-tripping in realtor school as an acceptable way to persuade your clients? In buying our house we switched realtors once and went back and forth a few times before deciding on financing, and between the two of us we got guilt tripped and/or told off three times. Hello? I’m sorry, were you trying to retain my business?

4. Bag of Nothing. My new favorite blog to follow. Several posts daily – random and useless but often entertaining. My current favorite: 14 Old Testament Ways to Get a Wife.

5. 841.64 GB. The amount of video on the Avid pertaining to the project I’m currently working on for a museum touchscreen installation. That’s 21,041 of the 40MB Apple computers we had when I was in 10th grade, or 8,417 100MB ZIP discs that were so popular once upon a time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

