Home > Church, Faith, The Life and Times of a Disenfranchised Christian > The Life and Times of a Disenfranchised Christian, volume ii

The Life and Times of a Disenfranchised Christian, volume ii

Here’s my dilemma. I have a passion for seeing lives changed for the better and people healed and freed to worship God and pursue their passions, thus influencing others. As far as I have ever experienced or heard, this happens most (and arguably best) in the setting of an organized faith community, i.e., a church, a conference, a student ministry, and so forth that’s connected to the living God as the source of this healing and empowerment.

However – I’ve been an on-again-off-again church shopper for the past three and a half years and I have found very (very) few churches who embrace this as a primary mission and show evidence in their congregations of its effect. Far more numerous are the ones that claim to be doing this or wanting to be doing this more, but no one’s really on board except the pastor and some of the leaders maybe.

This has brought me much disillusionment (is that a word?) and since I’m not a particularly self-motivated guy has caused me to shelve my passions in the meantime. This then causes all sorts of upheaval in my heart on a daily basis.

Which brings me back to the dilemma: I know church can be this type of healing, empowering community, because I’ve been a part of one that largely was. But good grief, where are the Christians who are committed to this like I want to be?? I feel like if I just had even just a few other like-minded folks around me we could make an incredible impact, but left to myself the best I can do for now is wait and want.

  1. December 24, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Hi, Jonathan. I’d like to respond, but it probably takes more than a blog comment to do so, and I’d need to know more about where you are coming from as well.

    Have you read “Desiring God” by John Piper?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

