Home > Life the Universe and a Good Cup of Coffee > Your Personalized Cosmetic Surgery Program

Your Personalized Cosmetic Surgery Program

So I know this is my first post and I should probably say a few things about who I am and why I set this blog up in the first place, and perhaps even what I intend to explore here, but I’m in the middle of a project at work right now and I just can’t get to all that yet. But I’ve got to write something about what I just came across because it’s too good to be just another story thrown at the first person to walk past my office and forgotten.

The company I edit for deals quite a bit with surgery, doctors, surgical devices and the like. It’s a rare day that I don’t see footage of someone else’s insides on the 42″ screen on the wall in front of me – a topic that’s another post altogether, and one that shouldn’t be read over a roast beef sandwich. But this morning as I popped open a DVCAM tape of an interview with a plastic surgeon, his business card fell out – something doctors occasionally include so we get the full spectrum of abbreviations after their name for ID’ing them on screen – and on the back was printed in italicized script, “Your Next Appointment”, with small caps DATE and TIME lines as you’d expect to see from your dentist or chiropractor.

Hello? I realize many folks choose to get multiple cosmetic surgeries performed – the face, the belly, the butt, the knuckles, whatever. But for a plastic doc to print this on the back of his cards as though he expects or even recommends that you return in six months for your next procedure borders – at least to me – on the inane. “Mr. Johnson, with that tummy tucked now, I’m going to put you down for a face lift six weeks out. You can schedule it with the receptionist on your way out.”

One thing I seem not to be able to escape recently is the constant deluge of marketing and consumerist messages, both explicit in advertising and implicit in our culture. I’ve been thinking how this affects me in ways I don’t fully grasp, beyond just my response to a banner ad (largely filtered out now thanks to the genius of Adblock) or a TV spot, but more on the level of my inner wirings – how I’m conditioned to expect options and the freedom to choose from them, and the convenience of the answer I want being as far away as my pocket or my lap. Sure, I don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong with owning a cell phone or shopping at Wal-Mart, but I wonder how much these conveniences cloud my sensitivities to other more important things around me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

